Hello world!

19 Aug

Ciao! Salve! Buongiorno! Yes, I know, there are just too many ways to say hello in Italian and it can be positively nerve-racking trying to choose one! The correct greeting is vitally important in Italy- you do not want to offend or be inappropriate…no siree, a simple “ciao” to the wrong person can garner you stares and a general feeling of guilt (which Italians do very well). But I don’t have to worry about that here, right? Here I can just say what I think without too many repercussions…like complaining about my mother-in-law?

My husband is officially banned from reading this blog.

Anyway, let me introduce myself. My name is Bianca, I am a 28-year-old Italian-American (which, upon moving to Italy, I discovered is NOT the same thing). I just married my Italian sweetheart who drives me insane on a regular basis, which you will undoubtedly hear all about. We live in the suburbs which is rife with Real (gossiping, nagging, old-fashioned, OCD) Housewives who iron their middle aged sons’ tighty-whitey’s every. single. day. Lovingly, of course.

As I don’t have an actual job and I probably won’t be getting one anytime soon (Welcome to Italy!), I decided I needed to write this blog. I have attempted a few other blogs, but it just takes too much work rounding up my favorite etsy finds and taking pictures of myself in cute outfits, so this blog will be easy since inspiration will  just materialize regularly. I can’t just sit home all day watching variety shows and vacuuming, after all. Although my mother-in-law would LOVE that!

And on that note I salute you with a taste of typical Italian television:

Ciao for now!

Bianca

Leave a Reply

